Society Awards

The Society for Neuroeconomics offers several awards and Fellowships.

Dissertation Award

In order to acknowledge the exceptional work done by PhD students and to encourage excellence in the scholarship, research and writing in the field of neuroeconomics, SNE is pleased to invite submissions for its first Best Dissertation Award.  This award recognizes the best PhD thesis in neuroeconomics concluded in the year preceding the submission deadline of January 31st.

The Award consists of a free Society for Neuroeconomics membership for a year. Prize can be shared among max 3 people.


To be considered, applicants must be members of the Society for NeuroEconomics and must have successfully defended their dissertation in the year preceding the deadline.

Application Process

Each submission, consisting of a single PDF file, must provide the following:

-Confirmation of thesis submission (either PhD diploma from an accredited institution, or a document from the PhD program confirming submission if still awaiting the degree)

-3-page summary of the contributions made by the thesis to the field of neuroeconmics

-Full thesis and paper

Please email the document to the SNE secretariat

Selection process

The review committee will consider both methodological and substantive contribution of the dissertation. The selection of dissertation will be based on its originality, creativity of the work and significance of research in the field of neuroeconomics. 

The review committee will consist of six members who are current members of the Society for NeuroEconomics. There will be two members from economics, two members from psychology, and two members from neuroscience. Members whose students applied cannot judge and vote on their theses.

The review committee will shortlist and select candidates based on the 3-page summary.

Applications will be accepted until January 31 at 11:59pm Central Daylight Time.

Society for NeuroEconomics Early Career Award


Application Information

The Society for NeuroEconomics invites applications for its annual Early Career Award. The successful applicants will demonstrate significant contributions to understanding the neural basis of decision making or the impact of this knowledge on formal understanding of decision behavior. Applications will be reviewed by a committee appointed by the President of the Society.

There will be two awards granted that each include a $1000 monetary prize and an engraved plaque, which will be presented at the Annual Meeting of the Society each year.

Eligible candidates are active members of the Society for NeuroEconomics who have completed their PhD and are up to and including 7 years into their faculty position or 10 years after the completion of their PhD as of the time they are considered. Less senior researchers, including postdocs, are therefore also eligible.

Applicants for the Early Career Award must submit a pdf file consisting of a one page description of their work and its relevance to neuroeconomics as well as current CV.  Applicants will also be asked to provide two letters of recommendation.

Candidates can self nominate or be nominated. 


How to Submit

You have two options to submit your candidacy:

1/ when submitting an abstract to the Annual Meeting (as you fill out the form, you will be asked to indicate if you want to be considered for the Award and prompted to upload the support documents)

2/ by sending your support documents to


Applications will be accepted March 3 to July 31 at 11:59pm Central Daylight Time.

Best Talk and Best Poster Award


For Poster & Talk Presenters

Bring your best work because all presenters will automatically be reviewed for a Best Talk and Best Poster Award. A judging committee will review all presenters on their work and their presentation execution. The winner of each will earn $100 and will be featured in post conference communication and on the website.

Thank you to our Sponsors

Platinum Sponsor

Gold Sponsors

stanford logo

Silver Sponsors